| 1 | Academic Search Premier Description: Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1975-present Use to locate: Articles
Full-text available for many items. |
| 2 | Archdiocese of Chicago Description: Includes links to the archdiocesan archives, Office of Catholic Education and a guide to the archdiocese.
Restrictions: None Use to locate: Web Sites
|
| 3 | Chicago Ancestors Description: From the Local and Family History department at the Newberry Library, historical information about Chicago from a variety of sources browseable or searchable through a map interface. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Web Sites
|
| 4 | Chicago Crime Statistics and Reports Description: Current statistics from the Chicago Police Department. Figures are reported by district number, not by neighborhood. Includes a district map. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Government documents, Statistics & Data Sets
|
| 5 | Chicago Daily News Historic Photographs Description: Over 55,000 images of urban life between 1902 and 1933 by photographers employed by the Chicago Daily News, then one of Chicago's leading newspapers. Restrictions: None Dates Covered: 1902-1933 Use to locate: Archival materials, Images
|
| 6 | Chicago Defender Description: Historically important African American newspaper. Back issues available on microfilm. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Journals, Newspapers
|
| 7 | Chicago Fact Book Description: Facts and figures on Chicago business, housing, employment, health care, weather, and many other topics. For neighborhood data from the 2000 Census, similar to the Chicago Community Fact Book, look on this site under Community Areas. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Statistics & Data Sets
Full-text available for many items. |
| 8 | Chicago History Museum Description: Formerly the Chicago Historical Society; offers excellent online exhibits. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Archival materials, Web Sites
|
| 9 | Chicago Imagebase Description: Maps, images, and other neighborhood and historical data to study the city, from the University of Illinois at Chicago. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Images, Maps, Web Sites
|
| 10 | Chicago Public Library Description: Access to online databases and information about the Chicago Public Library's collections and 79 locations. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Web Sites
|
| 11 | Chicago Reader Description: Independent weekly published since 1971 with features, arts and entertainment guide, apartment listings and more. Searchable archive online but with article delivery costs; print and microform available at Lincoln Park Library. Restrictions: None Search for this resource in the library catalog Use to locate: Journals, Newspapers
|
| 12 | Chicago Tribune - Historical Edition Description: Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1849-1985 Use to locate: Articles, Images, Newspapers
Full-text available for many items. |
| 13 | Consortium on Chicago School Research Description: The Consortium on Chicago School Research (CCSR) at the University of Chicago conducts research that can inform and assess policy and practice in the Chicago Public Schools. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Web Sites
|
| 14 | Digital Illinois Description: Digital collections from libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural institutions in Illinois Restrictions: None Use to locate: Archival materials, Audio, E-books, Images
|
| 15 | Egan Urban Center Description: Information and research on the Chicago metropolitan area, including education, community and urban development and policy issues. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Web Sites
|
| 16 | Encyclopedia of Chicago Description: Photographs, biographies, essays, art, music, maps and documents on all things Chicago.
Restrictions: None Search for this resource in the library catalog Use to locate: E-books, Encyclopedias
Full-text available for many items. |
| 17 | Illinois Harvest: Chicago Description: Extensive collection of full-text books and pamphlets related to 19th and early 20th century Chicago, digitized by the Open Content Alliance. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Archival materials, E-books
|
| 18 | Lincoln Park Architectural Photographs Description: 200 historical buildings, including landmark domestic residences, commercial sites, and churches constructed in a variety of historical styles. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Archival materials, Images
|
| 19 | Lincoln Park Neighborhood Collection Description: Digitized documents from the Lincoln Park Conservation Association and other Lincoln Park neighborhood collections held in the DePaul University Archives, documenting community growth beginning with the redevelopment plans of the 1950s. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Archival materials
|
| 20 | Local Community Fact Book: Chicago Metropolitan Area Description: Socioeconomic data from the 1990 Census (and earlier decades) and detailed histories of the city's 77 neighborhoods. Restrictions: In library use only Book: Click for call number & campus Use to locate: Books, Government documents, Statistics & Data Sets
|
| 21 | Metro Chicago Information Center Description: Annual MCIC survey of 3,000 respondents per year covers employment, demographics, crime, transportation, disabilities, political attitudes, leisure activities, charitable giving and religion. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Maps, Statistics & Data Sets
|
| 22 | Picturing Chicago Description: Hundreds of black and white photographs of Chicago, browseable by neighborhood. All Chicago community areas and most micro-neigborhoods are represented here. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Images
|
| 23 | Sanborn Insurance Maps - Illinois Description: Provides digitized maps for most cities and towns in Illinois. The large scale plans chart the growth and development of these communities.
Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1867-1970 Use to locate: Maps
Full-text available for many items. |
| 24 | Social Sciences Abstracts Description: Indexes social science, business and political journals; with abstracts.
Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1983-present Use to locate: Articles, Reviews
|
| 25 | State of the Nation's Cities Description: A database on 77 US cities and suburbs from the Center for Urban Policy Research at Rutgers University. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Statistics & Data Sets
|