DePaul University Libraries
University Chronology: 1960-1969

Enrollment is reported at 8,745, and the total number of alumni is nearly 26,000.

The first scholarship dinner is held on November 16 at the Conrad Hilton Hotel under sponsorship of Board of Lay Trustees. Scholarship funds to date had come from operating expenses.

The DePaul University's Women's Board is formed, and Mrs. Lydon Wild is named the first president.

In May, the School of Education is established to unify and give consistency to the teacher education programs in various colleges of the university.

In September, the honors program is established in College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

In October, Father O'Malley announces a $22.4 million Program for Greatness. $11.3 million is earmarked for physical plant expansion of the north side campus, and $11.1 million is targeted for continued improvement of faculty salaries, research opportunities, broadening of student scholarship program and increasing cultural, religious and academic programs. Projected completion of the program is planned to coincide with University's 75th anniversary in 1973.

The Lincoln Park Campus is officially designated in April.

On December 23, it is announced that the Very Rev. John R. Cortelyou, C.M., will succeed Father O'Malley as the eighth president of DePaul University.

Father O'Malley is to become chancellor.

Father Cortelyou assumes DePaul's presidency, making him the first natural scientist named to post (predecessors were theologians).

An announcement is made regarding the intensive study of academic and financial requirements for introduction of first DePaul doctoral program.

DePaul revises its educational philosophy and announces a radical revision of its curriculum. For the first time, it will integrate common core curricula for all undergraduate divisions and propose DePaul College, a new academic unit for "broad education in general knowledge".

DePaul adds existentialism and phenomenology courses to the philosophy curriculum, representing the first major pioneering change in 200 years in undergraduate programs offered by American Catholic institutions.

A site was cleared for the $4.5 million learning and library complex on Lincoln Park Campus.

Construction begins on the five-story learning and library complex at
2323 N. Seminary Ave. on the Lincoln Park Campus.

DePaul reports a $1 million cash gift, the largest in DePaul's history, from the Arthur J. Schmitt Foundation, and announces that the Lincoln Park complex will be named after this benefactor.

DePaul College, the university's general education component for all undergraduates, is established. It is organized into four divisions: humanities (art, history, literature, and music), natural sciences and mathematics, philosophy-religion, and social-behavioral sciences.

The undergraduate and graduate semester system changes to quarter system.

The Arthur J. Schmitt Academic Center opens on Lincoln Park Campus.

The North Central Association of Colleges and Universities approves DePaul's first doctoral programs in biological sciences, philosophy and psychology.

10 Vincentians and 5 lay men, the body governing DePaul since its incorporation by the State of Illinois in 1907, are named "members of the corporation," and a 42-member Board of Trustees is appointed to establish directions and basic policies for the university.

The Arthur J. Schmitt Academic Center is dedicated on the Lincoln Park Campus.

The Alumni Association establishes awards programs, honors to be given annually to graduates who have distinguished themselves through outstanding achievements in their fields and/or service to humankind.

DePaul Academy, the high school at 2219 N. Kenmore Ave. and operated by the Vincentian Fathers of the Western Province, closes after 70 years of service to Catholic education. The entire structure is turned over to DePaul University for academic purposes. The Department of Psychology is the first unit to occupy what is now known as Byrne Hall.

The plans for a $2.25 million residence hall and $3.15 million student union on the Lincoln Park Campus are completed.

Construction begins on the Lincoln Park Campus for the residence hall and student union.

University Chronology: 1970 - 1979