Skip Navigation
Special Collections Navigation Bar
Research Library Information Services Collections DePaul University Libraries Special Collections Digital Collections DePaul History Ask a Librarian DePaul University Libraries

St. Vincent's College Cape Girardeau

University of Dallas

St. Vincent's College, Cape Girardeau, Missouri, was founded in stages between 1838 and 1843. It was the first college founded specifically for lay students by the Western Province of the Congregation of the Mission. Full college status was established in 1843 after the State of Missouri recognized it as an institution of higher education. Although St. Vincent's had been established as a lay college, by the 1850s it started to become a mixed seminary/college. Over the next four decades the college acted as two separate institutions with parallel programs until in 1893 the seminary department was transferred to Kenrick Seminary in Saint Louis, Missouri. In 1910, the province designated Saint Vincent's College an "apostolic school" for high school students who were also candidates for the Vincentian community. Eventually, dwindling enrollment forced the province to close the school in 1979. When the high school closed, the mission of St. Vincent's College was reexamined and changed from a preparatory seminary to a center for evangelization. The Evangelization Center continued to host retreats and other religious activities until 1989 when it was no longer deemed economically feasible. The property was sold to Southeast Missouri State University in 1998.

 

Related Links:

Vincentian Collections
DeAndreis-Rosati
Opening Day
Vincentiana
Ladies of Charity

DeAndreis-Rosati Collection
The Founders
US Congregation of Mission
Holdings of the collection
Academic archives
Access & use policies

Collection guides

Using the collections

University Archives