Skip Navigation
Special Collections Navigation Bar
Research Library Information Services Collections DePaul University Libraries Special Collections Digital Collections DePaul History Contact Special Collections DePaul University Libraries

Chicago Advocates for Signed Theatre (CAST)

Chicago Advocates for Signed Language (CAST) was formed to explore the relationship between the deaf/ hearing-impaired community and the professional theatre community and to foster the exchange of information and services that enhances the accessibility of live theatre to the deaf and hearing impaired persons in the Chicago area.

CAST was the first group of its kind in Chicago formed solely to facilitate the marketing, research, and development of interpreted performances. In addition to consultation on the interpretation of plays, C.A.S.T. sponsored annual interpreter auditions each year as well as workshops and classes for its membership and the community at large.

The collection was donated by Leslie Shook, of The DePaul University Theatre School. She was a founding member and President of the board of directors of CAST.

Included in this collection are: minutes, correspondence, financial information, publicity, photographs, and newsletters. Also included are outside, non- CAST. reference materials, much of which concern disability rights of the hearing impaired.

Finding Aid

 

 

Related Links:

Collection Guides
University Archives
Archives
Vincentian Collections
Special Collections

Using the Collections